During my first afternoon at Orphans of the Storm®, I scouted out the other long-timers that I wanted to visit with so I would know exactly where to go next time. One dog that caught my attention was Lex, a seven-year-old Rottweiler mix, because he was very sweet when I stopped by his kennel. So, when I returned to the shelter this time, I asked to take Lex out.

He is a strong boy! Not surprising, considering Rottweilers are one of the sturdier breeds, but it’s good to know beforehand so you aren’t taken by surprise. It’s also important to keep in mind that every dog you take out will be extra excited at first. Lex led us to our run, and I followed him around as he sniffed at the grass, bench, fence, and bushes. After releasing some energy, he walked extremely well on a leash and responded to my calls of, “This way, Lex!”

Lex

His face is extremely attentive (and also extremely cute), and his ears perk up when he hears a potentially interesting sound, which causes his forehead to wrinkle in an adorable way. When I started to give his back legs a good scratch, he leaned in towards me so I could continue. He sat (briefly) when I asked him to, but I can’t blame him for getting up so quickly since there were so many new smells for him to explore.

Lex has been at the shelter since 2006, far too long for such a good dog. Stop by the shelter and get to know him yourself!

Next on my list was Emerald, another dog who has been at Orphans of the Storm® since 2006. Emerald arrived with a litter of puppies, all of whom were adopted very quickly, but poor Emerald was left behind. She is an enthusiastic eight-year-old Labrador/Staffordshire Bull Terrier mix who loves to run and jump like a puppy. Like Lex, she led us straight to the run and was thrilled to be out.

Emerald

I let her roam around the run for a few minutes before calling her over. When I did, she came barreling towards me with a big doggy grin and gently jumped up to give me a hug. She allowed me to place her back on the ground very easily, and I squatted down to her level. That still wasn’t close enough for her, because she attempted to climb into my lap before realizing she was too big. She then decided to place her front paws on my arms so we were eye-to-eye. I learned that this is how she prefers to receive her belly rubs: standing up on her back legs while resting her front paws on you, so you can then reach down and rub her belly.

Emerald would explore the run for a few minutes, run back to me with a wagging tail for another belly rub, and repeat. She also enjoys being scratched under her chin (which does, at times, have some doggy drool on it). Although she doesn’t come across as dog who likes to give kisses, she does love to be face-to-face. In Emerald’s opinion, the closer the better.

Emerald deserves a loving home, just like all of her puppies. Will it be with you?

14 responses »

  1. […] after they find their new forever home. There are some wonderful black dogs as well, like Scratch, Lex, Forest, and many more! Orphans of the Storm®’s website makes it easy to browse adoptable […]

  2. […] is another Orphans of the Storm® long-timer who I spent time with on my second visit. When she arrived at the shelter with a litter of puppies, the puppies all got scooped up and […]

  3. […] Lex the seven-year-old Rottweiler mix doesn’t understand why he’s been at the shelter since 2006. Some of his good qualities include having an adorable face, loving to play, walking well on a leash, and being housebroken. Those sound like pretty desirable qualities to me! Lex is strong, which is what a Rottweiler is supposed to be, and can pull on the leash when he first gets let out. That shouldn’t be held against him, though. If you give him a chance to run off some energy, he’s a great walking companion. And if he finally has a home to wander around in and explore, he won’t have so much pent-up energy when he first gets outside. On your next visit to Orphans of the Storm®, stop by Lex’s kennel and see for yourself what a sweetheart he is. Lex's adorable face […]

  4. […] Now for some old friends! Emerald the seven-year-old Labrador Retriever/Staffordshire Bull Terrier mix is one of Orphans of the Storm®’s longest residents, and she is another one of the dogs I first took out. Emerald arrived at the shelter back in 2006 with a litter of puppies, all of whom were happily adopted. But what about sweet Emerald? She loves to give slobbery doggy kisses and doggy hugs, and she appreciates getting scratched on her hips and ears. She may be seven (which really isn’t old at all), but she still loves to run and play. Emerald knows that her future family is out there somewhere, so she’s waiting patiently in the meantime. Maybe that future family is yours? You can read more about my first visit with Emerald here. […]

  5. […] since the one time my family tried to give our dog a bath ourselves it didn’t go so well.) Emerald, Corky, Diamond, and a few others all seemed to enjoy the extra attention and the nice-smelling […]

  6. […] and ‘shake’, among other commands), Frankie (who is just so sweet and gentle), Emerald (who is so happy to spend time outside), Corky (who is a good walking buddy), Star (who would be […]

  7. […] Emerald‘s story has been shared many times. She arrived at Orphans of the Storm® in 2006 (that’s eight years ago!) with a litter of puppies. All of her puppies found their new families quickly, but Emerald is still waiting for her turn. This ten-year-old Labrador Retriever/Staffordshire Bull Terrier mix is full of love and affection and plenty of energy to make for a wonderful, playful companion. […]

  8. […] also saw my furry friends Ebbie, Emerald, Honey Lamb, Javan, Molly (who is still the best fetch-player at the shelter, by far), and […]

  9. […] also saw Emerald, Ebbie, Wilbur, Bella, Dezzie, Diamond, Javan, Molly, the other Molly, Rock, and Winter! A great […]

  10. […] also saw plenty of my favorites, like Archie, Dezzie, Emerald, Hutch, Lady, Lucky, Mister, Shamrock, Tiger, Tom-Tom, Wilbur, and […]

  11. […] also saw my furry friends Archie, Rosco and Wilbur, Dezzie, Emerald, Molly, Clint (who was on his way to the Pet Showcase at Northbrook Court!), Ryla, Shasta, and […]

  12. […] also spent some time with Emerald (who gave me a big doggy hug), Molly, Fuzzy (another great senior dog), Corky, Dezzie (who covered […]

  13. […] also saw some of my favorite seniors Archie, Ebbie, and Emerald, and two of my favorite active buddies Molly and Rock (who, like Zeus, is back from training and […]

  14. […] also saw my furry friends Corky, Dezzie, Emerald, Lucy, Molly, Ryla, Scotty, Shard, and […]

Leave a Reply

