Today was another visit with some of Orphans of the Storm®’s long-timers. The dogs I spent time with today have each been at the shelter for over a year and are ready for a real home. Luckily, I remembered to bring my camera (finally) so you can see more of these lovable pooches.

First on my list was Billy, a six-year-old Pointer mix. Don’t let that gray fur on his face fool you! He absolutely loves to run and play. Billy and I sprinted to the grassy run and I took him off his leash so he could explore all he wanted. After rustling around inside the bushes at the far end of the run, Billy emerged with a tennis ball in his mouth. He is a big fan of playing fetch, and isn’t at all possessive of the tennis ball. He’s even spry enough to jump up and catch the tennis ball in midair!

Billy ready and waiting to play fetch

Billy enjoying the beautiful autumn day

Billy is also an extremely intelligent dog. In all of his doggy years, he has learned that treats tend to appear from inside pockets. Every time I reached for my pocket to either get my camera or put it away, he expectantly sat down right in front of me and nosed my pocket. I wished I had a treat to give him, because he was so good at it.

Billy exploring the run

A look at Wizard's face

Next was Wizard, a three-year-old Shepherd/Shar Pei mix. He is a little chubby, but enjoys going on walks and does well on a leash. Don’t expect to walk too briskly, though, because Wizard likes to sniff everything. It was hard to get a picture of his precious face because he almost always had his nose to the ground.

Wizard's round tummy and curly tail

Wizard also seems to be a little on the ticklish side, which I personally think is an endearing trait. After scratching his velvety ears, I started to scratch his back. As I moved towards his tail, one of his back legs started kicking. It was adorable.

Wizard's nose to the ground

Molly stretching her legs in a lap around the run

The last dog for me today was Molly, a three-year-old American Staffordshire Terrier mix. Molly was the best leash-walker of the three and was happy to walk just slightly ahead of me without pulling as we made our way to the run. Her light brown eyes match her tan markings and give her a very unique look – a look that anyone can love.

Molly liked to nibble grass

Molly is a giant sweetheart. She enjoyed sitting next to me as I gave her a good pat, and she would occasionally give me some slobbery doggy kisses. She even attempted to climb up onto my lap so she could reach my face better. If you want to make her extra happy (which everyone should, because she deserves it), you should scratch the right side of her neck. She’ll lean into your hand and pant cheerfully.

Molly sniffing in the bushes

On your next visit to Orphans of the Storm®, make sure to stop by and say hello to these three adoptable pooches!

21 responses »

  1. Jill says:

    I think Molly is absolutely adorable.

  2. […] Shepherd mix. She looks a little bit like a fox (in my opinion) and is just as clever. Like Billy, she knows that treats come from pockets and would get very excited any time I reached for mine. […]

  3. […] was going to be ours after his first (of many) belly rubs, there were a close second and third: Wizard and Mona. Wizard (who I spent time with a couple months ago) may take a while to warm up to you […]

  4. […] Molly the three-year-old American Staffordshire Terrier mix is such a happy dog–and would be even happier in a new home with a new family! She is also a great walking companion, and a great companion overall. Molly has lots of love to give, as shown by her desire to cover your face in slobbery doggy kisses and climb into your lap. Wouldn’t you love to see that silly face every day? Being greeted by her wagging tail always puts a smile on my face when I pass by her kennel. Let her bring a smile to your life, too! Molly is waiting for you! […]

  5. […] from the event on the Facebook page, you definitely should! I was so thrilled to find out that Billy and his new family spoke at the […]

  6. […] the three-year-old Boxer/Shepherd mix is such a sweetheart. (Molly the Pit Bull Terrier mix and Mollie the Lab mix are also sweethearts!) She likes people and dogs alike and would make a […]

  7. […] also took Molly the Pit Bull Terrier mix out for a quick walk, and let her run around the yard for a bit. She had […]

  8. […] Molly the Pit Bull Terrier mix preferred to curl up in the dog house inside the yard rather than try to make her way through the snow. But she just loves people so much! That cute tail of hers never stops wagging when someone is petting her. […]

  9. […] walked plenty of other old friends while I was at the shelter this week: Ebbie, Molly, Winter, Bailey, Frankie, Wilbur, Roscoe, Harley, and Tilly! […]

  10. […] buddy), Rock (who just wants someone to play with), Topaz (who has the sweetest eyes), Molly (who would much rather snuggle than go back in her kennel), and Ebbie (who is far too nice to have […]

  11. […] also spent some time with my buddies Dennis, Lucky, Akiva, Rock, Molly, Jade, and Hugo. If you bring a new dog into your home this holiday season, you’ll both be […]

  12. […] this frigid day, I also spent time with Molly (who greeted me with a big doggy hug), the other Molly (who covered my face in doggy kisses as I tried to put on her leash), Trixie (who loves tennis […]

  13. […] also spent time with Molly, the other Molly, Lucky, Akiva, Wilbur, and […]

  14. […] other pooches looking for love this February are Molly (who is happy to hang out in the yard, winter or summer), Ebbie (who is looking for a nice, quiet […]

  15. […] who would probably do best as the only dog in a home. If you’re a one-dog kind of person, Molly, Rock, Diamond, and Honey Lamb are all great […]

  16. […] also saw Emerald, Ebbie, Wilbur, Bella, Dezzie, Diamond, Javan, Molly, the other Molly, Rock, and Winter! A great group of dogs, if I may say […]

  17. […] also saw my furry friends Tiger (who is also friendly with dogs and kids), Javan, Molly, the other Molly (who is still the best fetch-player you’re ever going to find), Dezzie, Duke […]

  18. […] other furry friends, like Corky (who is such a pro at sitting for a treat), Giorgio, Lady, Mister, Molly (who loves to give doggy hugs), the other Molly (who will catch anything you throw–in […]

  19. […] also saw my furry friends Archie, Rosco and Wilbur, Dezzie, Emerald, Molly, Clint (who was on his way to the Pet Showcase at Northbrook Court!), Ryla, Shasta, and […]

  20. […] also spent some time with Emerald (who gave me a big doggy hug), Molly, Fuzzy (another great senior dog), Corky, Dezzie (who covered my face in doggy kisses), Lady, […]

Leave a Reply

