A heartwarming scene greeted me when I arrived at Orphans of the Storm® this week: a woman was standing at the front desk, filling out the necessary paperwork to adopt the adorable fluffball at the other end of the leash she was holding. It was obvious that the dog knew something good had just happened to him. When his new mommy started to say her goodbyes (because she wasn’t bringing him home until next week), the fluffball rolled over onto his back for a belly rub. I haven’t seen a happier doggy face in a long time. This is something I would love to see every time I visit the shelter, and something that I hope happens to the three dogs I met with this week.

Corky is a lovable four-year-old Hound/Shepherd mix. He was very interested in covering my whole face in doggy kisses, and put his front paws on my lap while I was sitting on the bench in order to reach.

Corky Hound/Shepherd 1

Corky sniffing

To give him some exercise, I tossed the tennis ball across the run. Corky went running after it and dropped the ball a few feet away from me—so he has a general idea of what fetch is. We did this a few times, and then Corky became more interested in sniffing around the bushes.

Corky Hound/Shepherd 2

Corky looking at me

Corky is also a fan of doggy hugs. He ran up to me, put his front paws up on my stomach, and stood on his two back feet quite happily while I scratched his neck and ears. We did this several times during our time together.

Corky Hound/Shepherd 3

Corky coming to say hi

Piper, a five-year-old Shepherd mix, reminded me more of a polar bear than anything else—an adorable polar bear. Piper is a very calm dog, and even though he’s a bigger guy, he doesn’t pull on the leash with too much strength (except for when I was trying to get him back inside his kennel, but that’s understandable).

Piper Shepherd 1

Piper enjoying the grass

Piper enjoyed investigating underneath the bushes, and could spend many moments sniffing the same blade of grass. He was so focused, I didn’t want to interrupt him. I couldn’t resist scratching his ears, though. They were too cute to stay away from.

Piper Shepherd 2

Piper avoiding the camera

Unfortunately, he’s a little bit camera shy, so I couldn’t get a good picture of his precious face. You’ll just have to visit the shelter and see him for yourself!

Piper Shepherd 3

Piper still sniffing

Peggy has been on my list for a while, because when you walk by her kennel and stop to say hello, she enthusiastically licks your hand. This three-year-old Hound/Pit Bull Terrier mix has been at Orphans of the Storm® since she was four months old, and would love the chance to make a family very happy.

Peggy Hound/Pit Bull 1

Peggy running around the run

Since Peggy has been at the shelter since puppyhood, she will need some training. She learns fast, though. While we were inside the run, she was getting excited and started jumping up on me. Thanks to Animal Planet’s “It’s Me or the Dog”, I tried the technique of simply turning my back to her. After just two more jumps, she stopped and kept her four paws on the ground. I praised her excessively for her smarts and good behavior.

Peggy Hound/Pit Bull 2

Peggy's eager face

Peggy, like Corky, has a general idea of what it means to “play fetch.” I would throw the ball, Peggy would chase after it, and then she would do a lap around the run with the ball still in her mouth. Then she brought it back to me. There’s nothing wrong with getting extra exercise, though.

 

 

Give these three pooches a chance and see how happy they can make you, and how happy you can make them!

36 responses »

  1. Jill says:

    Corky is great we almost adopted, the only problem was our current dogs had different ideas. I so hope he gets adopted soon.

  2. […] spend time with a few dogs I’ve previously written about. One of those dogs is extra-special: Peggy! Peggy is a four-year-old Pit Bull Terrier mix and one of the dogs who benefited from The Tyler […]

  3. […] Corky the four-year-old Hound/Shepherd mix loves to play and go for long walks. He already knows some basic commands like “Sit”, which he will do automatically right at your feet if he thinks you have a treat hiding in your pocket. You can also tell him to be “Gentle” when he takes the treat from your hand. Corky is also a lover. When I knelt next to him, he first sniffed my pockets in the hope of finding some treats (which I didn’t have, poor guy) and then he happily licked my face. You can read more about my first visit with Corky here. […]

  4. […] Piper the Shepherd mix was also eager for the chance to stretch his legs, and is wondering when it will be his turn to find a furever home. […]

  5. […] all of the fun scents in the neighborhood. This Piper shouldn’t be confused with the other Piper, the male Shepherd mix, but they would both make wonderful […]

  6. […] the one time my family tried to give our dog a bath ourselves it didn’t go so well.) Emerald, Corky, Diamond, and a few others all seemed to enjoy the extra attention and the nice-smelling shampoo. […]

  7. […] the seven-year-old American Bulldog mix is a big sweetheart (and could also pass as Peggy‘s twin!). This poor pooch lost his home when his family had to move to an apartment that […]

  8. […] Frankie (who is just so sweet and gentle), Emerald (who is so happy to spend time outside), Corky (who is a good walking buddy), Star (who would be happy to be a couch potato with you), Topaz (who […]

  9. […] also spent some time with Ebbie, Corky (who knows his commands–I didn’t even realize!), Keini, Lady, Bella, Midnight, and […]

  10. […] also spent time with Ebbie, Corky, Wilbur (who was incredibly well-behaved while I gave him a good brushing), Frankie, Tilly, and […]

  11. […] I love his spots, his ears, his face–everything! Hutch was also politely interested in Corky on the other side of the fence, but was more interested in sticking his nose into the snow and […]

  12. […] who enjoyed the snow this week were Wilbur, Rosco, Jade, Keini, Winter, Trixie, Akiva, Lucky, Corky, Topaz, and […]

  13. […] the people he knows with so much excitement), Topaz (who is a world-class giver of doggy hugs), Corky (who is great on a leash and knows his basic commands), Wilbur and Rosco (who are the best […]

  14. […] was sharing his kennel with another dog who has since been adopted, and he was very friendly with Corky on the other side of the fence while we were in the off-leash run (they even look like brothers!), […]

  15. […] go through Tops Kennel, I certainly did know Buddy, who was happily adopted after his stay at Tops. Peggy, who graduated from Tops Kennel last year thanks to the Tyler Fund, is still waiting for her future […]

  16. […] Corky is such a well-behaved boy, and yet it seems like he never gets the chance to show off his good manners because visitors continue to pass him by. Corky knows his basic commands like “Sit” and “Shake” and is extremely food-motivated, so he could easily learn much more. This six-year-old Hound mix is also great at giving doggy hugs. […]

  17. […] pretty well on the leash as we made our way to the off-leash run and gave a friendly hello sniff to Corky, who was on the other side of the fence, before going off to […]

  18. […] also saw plenty of my other furry friends, like Corky (who is such a pro at sitting for a treat), Giorgio, Lady, Mister, Molly (who loves to give doggy […]

  19. […] some time with Emerald (who gave me a big doggy hug), Molly, Fuzzy (another great senior dog), Corky, Dezzie (who covered my face in doggy kisses), Lady, Wilbur and Rosco (my favorite twins!), Scotty, […]

  20. […] also saw my buddies Archie (who is still the best), Wilbur (who is still my favorite), Corky (who is such a good boy–he walks well on the leash, he’s very affectionate, he knows […]

  21. […] also saw my furry friends Corky, Dezzie, Emerald, Lucy, Molly, Ryla, Scotty, Shard, and […]

  22. […] also saw my buddies Corky, Daisy, Diesel, Shamrock, Shasta, Wilbur, and […]

  23. […] also saw my furry friends Benny, Blush, Colby, Corky, Ebbie, Janet, Ryla, Tom-Tom, and […]

  24. […] sat in my lap like the lovebug she is), Shard, Tom-Tom (who gives the biggest and best doggy hugs), Corky, Benny (who is just so gentle), and […]

  25. […] also saw Wilbur, Bueller, Abby, Shard, Delilah, Diamond, Topaz, Corky, Lady, Rosco, Shasta, Sweet Pea, Shogun, Tucker, and Dolly (who, I am pleased to say, does much […]

  26. […] also saw my furry friends Ares, Corky, Daisy (who gets along well with other dogs), Ebbie, Javan (who is such a good boy–I have no […]

  27. […] Corky the eight-year-old Shepherd mix is such a good boy. I see him out and about almost every weekend and have walked him plenty of times myself. He’s a great leash-walking buddy and would love to go on long walks with his new family. He also knows a few commands, and will happily sit for you even if you don’t have a treat to offer in return (though hopefully Corky’s future family will spoil him with lots of treats!). Corky loves attention and will stay by your side as long as you’re petting him. […]

  28. […] also saw Ares, Casey (who is so snuggly!), Corky, Courage (who is convinced that she’s a lapdog), Daisy (who is so easy-going), Dezzie, Ebbie, […]

  29. […] also saw Baylor, Corky, Daka, Javan, Lucy, Ranger, Rocky, Rosco, Shamrock, Shasta, Shogun, Sweet Pea, Topaz, and […]

  30. […] also saw Corky, Diamond, Dezzie, Ranger, Topaz, Tucker, and Zoey (who just loves to play and give doggy […]

  31. […] also saw Corky, Diamond, Dezzie, Ranger, Topaz, Tucker, and Zoey (who just loves to play and give doggy […]

  32. […] also saw Corky, Ebbie, Javan, Lucky, Ranger, Rocky, Rosco, Scotty, Shogun, and […]

  33. […] deserves), Scotty (who is so gentle), Topaz (who gives great doggy hugs and is so affectionate), Corky (who knows his basic commands very well), and Ebbie (who has spent far too long at the shelter and […]

  34. […] Bella (who is such a gentle giant–so sweet, but so sad to find herself back at the shelter), Corky, Dezzie, Joy, Lucky, Scotty, and […]

  35. […] also saw Bella (who is so sweet), Blush (who has been waiting at the shelter for far too long), Corky (who loves to play with doggy toys), Courage (who is absolutely convinced she is a lapdog, despite […]

  36. […] also saw Bella, Blush, Corky, Courage, Diamond, Ebbie, Lady, Lucky, and […]

Leave a Reply

