Happy Valentine’s Day! To celebrate, here is another wonderful love story, about Mark and his adopted poodle, Alex. Thank you for sharing your story with us, Mark!

Background: My daughter was asking me for a dog for a long time and I finally decided to start looking around. I told her my requirements are that it be from a shelter and there were some allergy issues I had to get over. I investigated what breeds would be good as far as allergies and a poodle was one of them.

Q: Why Orphans of the Storm®?
A: I love dogs too much. There is no reason to go to a pet shop. There are plenty of good dogs looking for homes in shelters. We heard about Orphans of the Storm® from some friends and decided to check it out. We liked the fact that we could take the dog outside and play with it.

Q: How did you hear about Orphans of the Storm®?
A: From friends and I did an internet search.

Q: What made you want to adopt from a shelter?
A: Like I mentioned, I love dogs and it’s sad that so many of them are in shelters. I see no reason of buying a dog from a pet shop.

Q: Was this your first pet dog?
A: Yes.

Q: Did you have a specific breed/age/size/other trait in mind when you first came to the shelter?
A: I had allergy issues to think about and a poodle was a good breed. We also wanted a smaller-sized dog since we don’t have a huge house. I am also very busy so a dog like a collie, that needs lots of attention and outdoor time, was out of the question.

Q: How many dogs did you visit with in one of the off-leash runs before you decided on your dog?
A: Just one. The one we adopted.

Q: What about Alex sealed your decision to adopt him?
A: I was able to pick it up and hold it without it complaining too much. My daughter really liked it and I did not seem to have any allergy issues.

Q: How did your dog respond to transitioning from shelter life to home life?
A: The whole transition worked great. The dog was already housebroken. We knew that Alex had some ear infection problems when we picked him up so I have been treating him for that, but otherwise everything worked out great.

Q: Anything else you’d like to add?
A: I am glad that I had the opportunity to adopt a dog from a shelter. Alex has become a part of the family and we love him.

Leave a Reply

