If you’re looking for a new snuggle buddy, look no further than the dogs at Orphans of the Storm®!

Sonny the two-year-old Hound mix has a sunny personality. I first met Sonny at this year’s Pooch Parade, where he was a perfect example of the wonderful dogs Orphans of the Storm® has to offer. So why is he still at the shelter? It’s beyond me. Sonny has just about everything you could ever want in a dog: he’s super affectionate, super well-behaved, super dog-friendly, and overall a super companion!

Sonny Hound mix 1

Sonny is such a happy boy

Sonny definitely classifies himself as a lap dog. Don’t let his big size fool you–if any part of him can fit in your lap, it’s safe to say he’ll make it work. When I sat down on a bench, Sonny put his front paws in my lap, gave me lots of doggy kisses, and then stayed there while I gave him a nice neck rub. He also loves to give doggy hugs because he is just so excited to share his love with everybody he meets. If you’re looking for a big, happy dog, come in soon to meet Sonny!

Sonny Hound mix 2

Sonny coming in for a snuggle

Scrabble the four-month-old Terrier mix is just the cutest little thing. Of course, he has to be the center of attention. When I sat down on the ground, he jumped right into my lap and started nibbling on my fingers (I was wearing gloves, which I eventually took off so he could use them as a chew toy) and giving me little doggy kisses. Since Scrabble is still very much a puppy, he’s going to need a family who is willing to spend time training him.

Scrabble Terrier mix 2

Scrabble looks like a little lamb

Scrabble is also dog-friendly. He currently has a kennelmate (see below) and was interested in all of the other dogs who were out and about with us. He doesn’t have any problem with being picked up since that just means more snuggling for him, and he is very playful. Scrabble has the softest curly fur (I think he might be part Poodle, though it’s hard to say) and the cutest little face. Thinking about bringing a puppy into your home? Scrabble might be just the one for you!

Scrabble Terrier mix 2

Scrabble making a silly face

Tim the three-year-old Chihuahua mix is nice enough to put up with the puppy antics of his kennelmate, Scrabble. When I saw him inside his kennel, he was curled up on a blanket, probably trying to keep warm. When we got outside, he was shaking a bit–a mixture of being cold and nervous. Tim’s new family might have to buy him some winter sweaters!

Tim Chihuahua mix 1

Tim keeping an eye on things for me

Even though Tim was on the nervous side, as soon as I sat down on the ground he climbed right into my lap and made himself a little nest while I tried to keep him warm with the sleeves of my jacket. He even gave me a doggy kiss! Tiny Tim didn’t want to move from my lap once he made himself comfortable–the real definition of a lap dog. If you and your lap are feeling lonely, Tim will be more than happy to fix that!

Tim Chihuahua mix 2

Tim is ready for a lap to call his own!

I also spent time with Ebbie, Corky, Wilbur (who was incredibly well-behaved while I gave him a good brushing), Frankie, Tilly, and Harley.

Be sure to stop by Northbrook Court for all of your holiday shopping needs this year, because Orphans of the Storm® will be on hand for the Holiday Pet Showcase from November 15-December 24! Adoptable dogs and cats will be there to bring you some holiday cheer and hopefully find a new home, and volunteers will be there to wrap gifts. For more information, check out the Facebook event page.

2 responses »

  1. […] to be close to his people. He also seems to be under the impression that he can be a lap dog (like Sonny) and will try his best to fit as much of himself as possible onto you. Lance is one good-looking […]

  2. […] seemed to do pretty well with Sonny, who was on the other side of the fence, though his exuberance might be a bit much for some dogs. […]

Leave a Reply

