There were so many new pooches looking for their furever homes at Orphans of the Storm® this weekend, and the great news is that many of them found one! But there are plenty of wonderful dogs still waiting to be discovered. All three of the dogs below were quickly added to my “favorites” list because they are all so sweet!

Hollister the seven-year-old Shepherd mix is, in a word, amazing! When I came to his kennel to put his leash on, he simply sat and waited until he was hooked up and the kennel door was opened. Hollister is a big boy (and so fluffy!), but he is so gentle. He walked wonderfully on the leash and would occasionally stop and look up at me just to make sure we were still on the same page about where we were going. Talk about attentive!

Hollister Shepherd mix 1

Hollister enjoying the springtime sun

Hollister just wants to be loved. He gently licked my nose as a thank-you while I pet his back, and when I sat down on a bench he rested his head in my lap and just enjoyed being scratched behind the ears. Everyone who passed by thought he looked like the sweetest pooch, and he is! Hollister was even friendly with itty-bitty Rico (who has since been adopted, hurray!), who was smaller than Hollister’s head alone. If you’re looking for a big dog to be the perfect companion, come in soon to meet Hollister!

Hollister Shepherd mix 2

Hollister the gentle giant

Enos the three-year-old black Labrador Retriever mix is a cuddle-bug who thrives on human contact. While we were making our way to the off-leash run, Enos kept rubbing against my leg like a kitty and I kept giving him a reassuring pat on the back. Although he did some exploring once we were in the run, he always came running back to me for more petting.

Enos Black Labrador Retriever mix 1

Enos wondering why I’m taking his picture instead of petting him

Enos is another great leash-walker. If I said, “Come,” he would go in whatever direction I wanted–and with a wagging tail! When I sat down on the bench, Enos scooted his back half between my knees so I could scratch his hips. He turned his head around and gave me the sweetest doggy smile while I did that. Before I stood up again, he made sure to give me plenty of doggy kisses. I am definitely part of the Enos fan club, and you will be too as soon as you meet him!

Enos Black Labrador Retriever mix 2

Enos just wants to snuggle

Freddy the two-year-old Labrador Retriever mix is one of the cutest pups at the shelter right now. He even got picked to make an appearance at the Northbrook Court Pet Showcase on Sunday! His tail was wagging all over the place when he saw me come over with a leash, but he was very patient about waiting for me to put it on. Freddy was a little skittish about loud or unusual noises (opening the gate to leave the off-leash run made him jump), but it’s easy to see that once he’s settled in a loving home, he will be a happy-go-lucky pooch.

Freddy Labrador Retriever mix 1

Freddy got lots of compliments while we were out

Freddy stayed pretty close to me while we were in the off-leash run, but he did enjoy sticking his nose in the hay to see what smells he could find. If I knelt down next to him, he was happy to stand next to me and get a nice scratch on the chest. He gave my nose a tentative sniff a few times, so maybe the next time I see him we’ll progress to doggy kisses. Freddy is still a young dog with plenty of love to offer. Stop by the shelter soon and say hi to Freddy!

Freddy Labrador Retriever mix 2

Freddy’s adorable face

I also saw my furry friends Dezzie, Giorgio, Jade, Lucky, Maggie, and Saber.

And don’t forget–“The Cat’s Meow” Annual Benefit Dinner is coming up quick: Monday, April 28 at 5:30 p.m. Attendees can get a VIP tour of the new cat wing!

Leave a Reply

