I guess I had particularly good instincts this week, because each dog I walked at Orphans of the Storm® ended up being one of the sweetest dogs I’ve met! If you’re looking for a cuddle buddy, there are lots of sweeties to choose from right now.

Bonnett the five-year-old Australian Cattle Dog mix is a cutie. She barks a little from inside her kennel, but that’s just to get your attention. She didn’t make a peep the entire time I was out with her. Bonnett was a little shy at first, but warmed up after a few minutes. She spent some time exploring underneath the bushes in the off-leash run but eventually came over to spend some time with me.

Orphans of the Storm Dogs: Bonnett 2

Bonnett in the shade

Bonnett loves going for walks. When I said, “Do you want to go for a walk?” she jumped up and put her front paws on me with her little stub of a tail wagging enthusiastically. Bonnett is a good leash-walker who likes to walk at a quick pace but doesn’t pull. She was previously sharing her kennel with another dog, so she could go to a home with or without another dog. Be sure to say hi to Bonnett on your next visit to the shelter!

Orphans of the Storm Dogs: Bonnett 1

Bonnett following her nose

Oliver the two-year-old Treeing Walker Coonhound mix looks like a bundle of energy when he’s inside his kennel, but after his initial burst when he first comes out, he’s actually pretty calm. Oliver likes to cuddle and joined me on the bench a couple of times. He’s happy to give doggy kisses.

Orphans of the Storm Dogs: Oliver Hound 1

Oliver says, “May I join you up here?”

Oliver and I took a stroll around the woodland preserve. Oliver walked nicely on the leash and occasionally looked up at me, which is a good sign that he’ll take cues from his new owner. He liked taking breaks every once in a while for a good scratch on the back. Hounds can be talkative, but Oliver wasn’t when we were out. Come in soon to meet Oliver!

Orphans of the Storm Dogs: Oliver Hound 2

I’d say Oliver was pretty happy on his walk

Andy the eight-year-old Border Collie mix is such a sweetheart. He was resting on his doggy bed when I came by his kennel, but got up to say hello. He was a little nervous when I showed him the leash, but after a minute or so of petting him and telling him it would be just fine, Andy let me hook him up and we went on our way.

Orphans of the Storm Dogs: Andy Border Collie 1

Andy coming over to cuddle

Andy walks on the slow side (he has arthritis) but still seems to enjoy being out and about. The longer he was outside, the more his tail wagged. Andy is so precious. Whenever I started petting him, he would keep leaning into me and tuck his head against me. Andy looks a little sad right now, but once he gets some TLC and a nice bath, he will look and feel so much better. Make sure to say hi to Andy on your next trip to the shelter!

Orphans of the Storm Dogs: Andy Border Collie 2

Andy is ready to head to a loving home

I also saw Bella, Coal, Cody, Daffodile, Josh, Lucy, the other Lucy, Ramsey, Roxy, and Waggles.

4 responses »

  1. […] also saw Bella, Buddie, Carlos, Daffodile, Lucy, Max, Merlin, Oliver, Shyanne, and […]

  2. […] the two-year-old Bloodhound/Labrador Retriever mix (not to be confused with the other Andy) is a big, strong boy who is also a big sweetheart. One of Andy’s favorite things is tennis […]

  3. Pattie says:

    Is he still available?

Leave a Reply

